Pic ' N' Mix
Musings Of Faraway Times And Faraway Places


<< : 2004-01-14 @ 10:58 p.m. : >>
An Invitation Turned Down



Laura, who I shared a room with two years ago as a first year, has invited me to live with her when I return to Brighton.

And I have turned her down. I feel so very, very mean.

It has been my plan for a long time now to find two guys to live with upon my return. Cheery, sociable guys - graduate students maybe - who I could accompany to the pub in the evenings. For I have never lived with guys before, I went to a single-sex school, wherever I go all my closest friends seem to turn out to be girls (I was discussing that tendency with Catherine just this weekend).... and well, it's just something I'd like to try.

I know many would warn me that I will not necessarily love the experience. But that is just fine with me. I am fully prepared for that. For it was one of those things that, if I didn't try for myself, I would always wonder what it would have been like. Just like coming to Portland - although I don't completely love the place I am glad I came, for otherwise I would never have known what the experience would have held for me.

I just feel bad for Laura. I hope that, on the other side of The Atlantic, she is not feeling hurt.



Why Pic 'N' Mix? ~ Profile ~ Diaryland ~ Archives ~ Messages ~ Diaryrings