Pic ' N' Mix
Musings Of Faraway Times And Faraway Places


<< : 2003-12-13 @ 2pm : >>
Love Affair From A Distance



This morning we watched The Snowman by Raymond Briggs - such a classic Christmas movie that Christmas, to me at least, would not quite be Christmas without seeing it at least once.

You see, as I think I once explained, many of the dorms here are themed. Opposite me, for example, is the pirate dorm whose HAs are all called Captain something or other. I can see their big skull-and-cross-bone flag from my window.

I live in the kindergarten-themed dorm, which suits me perfectly. One of our dorm activities is to watch cartoons every Saturday morning and to take it in turns to make breakfast for each other. This weekend we decided to be seasonal and watch Christmas cartoons. Megan and I went to the movie store last night to choose some.

In all the many, many times that I have seen The Snowman before, I somehow failed to notice that it shows views of Brighton. My beloved, beloved Brighton. As the boy and the snowman fly up into the air, you see them pass over the pier and the pavilion.

This got me so excited this morning, I cannot tell you. I want to be there. So, so badly.

Take. Me. There.

NOW!

It is most interesting, this love affair that I have developed from a distance.

Does absence make the heart grow fonder, or is out of sight out of mind?

Come to think of it, this is a good example actually, of both those sayings being true. Evidently they need not be mutually exclusive.



Why Pic 'N' Mix? ~ Profile ~ Diaryland ~ Archives ~ Messages ~ Diaryrings