Pic ' N' Mix
Musings Of Faraway Times And Faraway Places


<< : 2003-12-11 @ 10:08 p.m. : >>
Just One Last Thing....



Just one last thing before I begin this new chapter....

I spent the first days of my gap year at an orientation program(me). We were warned there about the difficulties we were likely to have on returning to our home countries. I was younger then, a year seemed like a lot longer than it does now, and it was not until much later that the information really took on any significance to me.

But when it did, it was this story that I liked the best:

It was about a Swedish girl who, on arriving in the US for the year, had a lot of difficulties adjusting. It was as if, she said, in Sweden she had seen everything through yellow glasses. But in the US everything was different. Here, she felt, she saw everything instead through blue glasses.

She had always assumed that, on returning to Sweden, she would simply be able to switch the blue glasses for the yellow ones again. Just like that.

But when she got there, she found that idea didn't work at all. The world just didn't look right in yellow any more. The brief glimpse she had had of the world in blue, had changed the way she saw things forever. She now saw the world through green shades.

Corny as that story is, I think it's message is very true. My experiences here - be they for better or for worse - will stay with me now forever. I talk and think about my other life sometimes as if it were a slot that I could fit right back into. Just like that. In reality of course, it is not. Already, even in the space of these past three and a half months, I have changed to an extent where I would no longer fit so comfortably into that slot.

But enough of that for now. It is time now to sit back and allow myself to enjoy being shaped by this experience.....


Why Pic 'N' Mix? ~ Profile ~ Diaryland ~ Archives ~ Messages ~ Diaryrings