Pic ' N' Mix
Musings Of Faraway Times And Faraway Places


<< : 2003-11-05 @ Early Evening : >>
Other Times And Other Places



I am so totally fascinated by the 1980s. By its music, its movies, its toys, its fashion, its politics....

I am similarly fascinated by the 1970s but slightly less so. And the 1960s even less so still. I have recently begun to develop something of a fascination with the 1990s, but that's not very strong at all at present.

I should perhaps have been born in the mid-'60s rather than the early '80s. Then I could have come of age in my era of fascination and enjoyed it all firsthand. But the big question is.....

If I had actually been present during these times, would I have the same love for them?

Knowing me, my suspicion is probably not. The out-of-reach has an attraction all of its own.

If it were suddenly to be discovered that life is really like a video-player, and that it were possible to press rewind and go back to those times, I would probably be very disappointed and wonder what the hell I had ever been expecting anyway. And I would probably want to come back.

Just like I am fully aware that if I were to go to Brighton right now, I would wonder what I'd ever thought would be so great about it. And I would also probably want to come right back.


Why Pic 'N' Mix? ~ Profile ~ Diaryland ~ Archives ~ Messages ~ Diaryrings