Pic ' N' Mix
Musings Of Faraway Times And Faraway Places


<< : 2004-01-29 @ 11:36 p.m. : >>
I Miss Wearing Lipstick



At midnight, Shorey will turn 21 and a few other 'over-agers' and I are taking her out to a bar so she can have her first legal drink. (Trust me, you really do not want to hear my views, as one who grew up in Europe, on this).

I am dressed-up. I miss dressing-up. I really cannot tell you just how much I miss dressing-up. For it is something people don't do here. People wear the same clothes to get trashed with their friends that they wore to class all day. And as for going out.... well, going out is a rarity here.

The dressing-up thing is something that prevents me, psychologically, from having fun, I think. For different clothes seem to help me distinguish subconsciously between my many different selves (as ridiculous as that may sound).

I feel so vain, so shallow. Dressing-up feels almost wrong here. But I miss it. I want to be in a room in the dark, under a mirror-ball with loud music playing and lots of people around me.

Sorry. Vanity over.



Why Pic 'N' Mix? ~ Profile ~ Diaryland ~ Archives ~ Messages ~ Diaryrings