Pic ' N' Mix
Musings Of Faraway Times And Faraway Places


<< : 2004-01-18 @ 2:21 p.m. : >>
What I Am Not



Once upon a time, I used to want to go to Sarah Lawrence in Bronxville (New York) for grad school.

I am talking like an American. A British person would say, "I used to want to go to Sarah Lawrence for postgrad" or "I used to want to be a graduate student at Sarah Lawrence." For 'school' in the UK is strictly a place for the under-18s.

Anyway, the point I was getting to is that now I have absolutely no desire to go to Sarah Lawrence. In fact, it is so far removed from anything I would want to do these days that the idea is almost laughable.

The whole 'school' business is admittedly a part of it. For, as I have said here before, it is more than a matter of mere vocabulary. I feel so much more independent and adult when in England. Then there is the fact that 74% of the Sarah Lawrence student body is female. I have spent too much of my life in that kind of environment and have no particular desire for more of it.

Plus, like Reed, it is another of those very, very intellectual places. I am not somebody who cares passionately about academics, nor am I particularly a leftie liberal arts type either. And anyway, my heart belongs to England these days.

Perhaps figuring out who I am not and what I do not want is a step towards figuring out who I am. In fact, come to think of it, by definition it must be.



Why Pic 'N' Mix? ~ Profile ~ Diaryland ~ Archives ~ Messages ~ Diaryrings