Pic ' N' Mix
Musings Of Faraway Times And Faraway Places


<< : 2004-01-01 @ 10:36 p.m. : >>
2003: A Year I Enjoyed Very Much



A favorite exercise of mine has long been to look through my last year's diary and see what I was doing exactly one year ago to the day.

My 2003 diary is going to be an enjoyable one to look back at. There were very many good times. Mostly now it is the nights out that I remember. Plastic Fantastic, Dynamite Boogaloo, The Broom Cupboard, The School Disco.... The girl with the red lollipop really came alive at night.

Most of all I suppose I enjoyed various birthday celebrations - '60s night for Louise's birthday, a bar crawl for Katie's which somehow landed up with me at The Joint getting told off for passing a mouldy cake around the dancefloor (why do I now remember this as one of the best nights of my life?), and the bash I had for my own 21st.

I also have fond memories of having lunch with friends after lectures. Academics did not, admittedly, figure very highly in my life in those days. I went to lectures mainly to see my friends and was known for spending the time in the back row making grafitti pictures. I used to have grafitti penpals (i.e. I would leave messages and they would reply). This is a very far cry from the girl my Reed friends know.

If at home, my flatmates and I would sit around and watch Neighbours - the trashy Australian soap - at lunchtime. The entire beauty of Neighbours to us was just how trashy it actually was. Many a good mindless 25 minute sessions were spent laughing together at quite how bad the storylines could get.

After Neighbours was Doctors which, in my opinion, is a brilliant soap. My flatmates disagreed though so I was forbidden to watch it in the sitting room. I would instead go watch it in my room. I used to have a captain bed which I totally loved.... and.... well... yes, I would generally take an afternoon nap in it.

I am going to stop now because I think my Reed friends would be really rather horrified at my idleness. In fact I myself, whilst writing this, am becoming rather horrified at my own idleness.

Then in August I moved to Oregon - a place I have so far failed to become excited about or even develop any real feeling for at all. I wonder if that can change. If there is a way to somehow find feeling.....


Why Pic 'N' Mix? ~ Profile ~ Diaryland ~ Archives ~ Messages ~ Diaryrings