Pic ' N' Mix
Musings Of Faraway Times And Faraway Places


<< : 2003-11-20 @ 1:37 a.m. : >>
Acclimatization



I am reading a British novel at the moment. As I turned a page this morning, the word "colour" immediately stood out at me. A tiny alarm bell went off in my head saying, "Wrong spelling!"

This is most interesting. I have been out here just three months.

"So are you picking up an accent?" asked a friend on instant messenger. "Because you are certainly typing like you are."

"I am?!" I typed back in surprise.

"Yes. English people don't talk about grocery stores and carts and buying liquor. They talk about supermarkets and trolleys and buying booze."

"They do? Oh yes, you're right they do. I'd forgotten about that."

Yet to everyone here I am still very British. So much so, apparently, that they laughed when I asked if I had begun to show any signs of losing my accent.

The differences are apparent to both sides, it seems. I am now an inbetween.


Why Pic 'N' Mix? ~ Profile ~ Diaryland ~ Archives ~ Messages ~ Diaryrings