Pic ' N' Mix
Musings Of Faraway Times And Faraway Places


<< : 2003-08-18 @ 1am : >>
A Beginning At Last



I first stumbled across DiaryLand many a moon ago. It must have been some time back around '97, I would guess.

I found the concept quite bizarre then, if I remember rightly. As in: "A diary?! On the internet?! Why would anbody want one of those?! Isn't a diary supposed to be private, not broadcast to the world at large?"

But the idea must have grown on me. For here am I about to begin such a thing.

In fact, I've been meaning to start this for a while now actually. The time has just never seemed quite right.

You see, I've always liked to begin things at the beginning. And all the times I've been tempted to start at have always seemed too much like middles or approaching ends. Trying to explain all the stuff that had come before would just have got too complicated.

I obviously can't begin at the real beginning because that was way back in '82 when I couldn't read nor type and computers didn't even do this kind of thing. But soon - very soon - I am going away somewhere new, to live for a whole year. Somewhere I've never even been before and where I know no one.

So there you go. A new beginning. No time nor opportunity like the present. No excuses anymore.

Diaryland here I come.



Why Pic 'N' Mix? ~ Profile ~ Diaryland ~ Archives ~ Messages ~ Diaryrings